DCMS seeks 4 new commissioners


The UK Department for Culture, Media and Sport are looking to employ four new commissioners for the UK Gambling Commission. Applicants are sought for the one-day a week role in the next few weeks. The five-year term will commence in January 2012.

The Gambling Commission was established on 1st October 2005 as an independent regulator for all commercial gambling in Great Britain except for the National Lottery and spread-betting. It is based in Birmingham, where board meetings are generally held. The Government has announced its intention to merge the Gambling Commission and the National Lottery Commission through the Public Bodies Bill. Those that are interested in joining the Gambling Commission at this exciting time should note the following details.

Candidates should be able to demonstrate the following essential criteria:

• the highest standards of integrity;

• an understanding of, and commitment to, the Government’s licensing objectives in the Gambling Act 2005;

• an understanding of the public and legislative environment within which gambling takes place;

• a commitment to diversity and equality, in relation to policy development and employment practices at the Commission

In addition the following is a list of the desirable qualities that will be looked for in candidates:

• experience in the Private sector at board level, or equivalent, of commercial activity;

• senior experience in a regulatory or legal environment;

• senior experience in law enforcement;

• an ability to understand and represent consumer interests;

• an ability to understand and represent the regulatory role of local authorities;

• a high degree of current knowledge of e-business.

• experience of running competitions and/or managing a major partnership style contract e.g. privatisation, PFI, franchising

• understanding of Scottish or Welsh local and devolved government approach to gambling and its regulation, and their concerns

Current members of the Gambling Commission’s board comprise Philip Graf (Chairman), Rachel Lampard, Peter Teague, Gill Milburn, Eve Salomon, Ben Gunn, William Knight and Jenny Williams (Chief Executive).

The roles attract a non-pensionable remuneration of £275 per day. Reasonable and properly documented expenses incurred on board business will be reimbursed. The appointments are for five years, and are expected to be made in December 2011 and to take effect in January 2012.

Applications for the role can be made at the UK Department for Culture, Media and Sport website.

Comments (1)

Add Your Comment

guess who’s paying their wages and expenses? what about a petition to clear out the whole bureacratic mass called the gambling commission. Anyone remember the magistrates licensing system

Peter Eccleston
The Florin Dereham
11/10/2011, 14:07

Add Your Comment

* Required field. All comments are reviewed before appearing.

Get our newsletter